Thursday, Aug 24

DALLAS (NCFAA) – Together with 12 of its member awards, the National College Football Awards Association will package national players of the week this college football season.

The 12 awards will announce their weekly honored players and then, as a group, they will be packaged under the NCFAA umbrella. All releases will come at Noon ET each Tuesday with the exception of the season's first honors, which will be held a day to account for the games over the extended Labor Day holiday weekend.

The following awards will present national players of the week:

  • Bednarik Award (Defensive Player)
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Defensive Player)
  • Davey O’Brien Award (Quarterback)
  • Doak Walker Award (Running Back)
  • John Mackey Award (Tight End)
  • Lou Groza Award (Kicker)
  • Maxwell Award (Overall Player)
  • Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)
  • Paul Hornung Award (All-Purpose Player)
  • Paycom Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)
  • Ray Guy Award (Punter)
  • Walter Camp Award (Offense and Defense)

"Awards are part of the fabric of college football," said NCFAA President Mark Wolpert of the Maxwell Football Club. "It's important that we recognize great individual performances throughout the season, leading all the way up to our award winner announcements. To better promote our awards, we believe all of our weekly announcements should come in a consistent, streamlined fashion."

Last month, the NCFAA unveiled its awards Vault, the first-of-its-kind award nomination portal. The Vault will be used to accept nominations for weekly honors and as an key information cog for award committees and individual voters. Powered by collegepressbox, the official media website of Division I football, the Vault provides a unique online resource for everyone in the awards process, including all FBS schools and their respective publicists. The Vault was conceived and created as part of a full rebranding of the NCFAA and the launch of its new website, which will add new features throughout the season.

Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes college football’s most prestigious awards and its 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients dating back to 1935. For more information about the NCFAA and its award programs, visit the redesigned or follow on X at @NCFAA.