NCFAA to unveil preseason watch lists beginning July 29

Tuesday, May 28

The National College Football Awards Association will unveil preseason watch lists for 16 of its awards from Monday, July 29 through Tuesday, Aug. 13, beginning with the Maxwell Award and ending with the Butkus Award.

The watch lists will include names of returning standout players and will commence as preseason conference media days finish.

The Butkus Award watch list will close the 12-day rollout with a tribute to the award's legendary namesake, Dick Butkus, who passed away on Oct. 5, 2023.

Nine of the NCFAA awards will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards, to be aired live on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12. The complete awards calendar, featuring the dates of semifinalists and finalists for 24 NCFAA awards, will be released at a later date.

Following is the 2024 NCFAA Watch List Calendar:

Mon., July 29: Maxwell Award
Tue., July 30: Outland Trophy/Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Wed., July 31: Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Thu., Aug. 1: Paul Hornung Award/Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., Aug. 2: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

Mon., Aug. 5: Walter Camp Award
Tue., Aug. 6: Doak Walker Award
Wed., Aug. 7: Biletnikoff Award
Thu., Aug. 8: Davey O'Brien Award
Fri., Aug. 9: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy

Mon., Aug. 12: Bednarik Award
Tue., Aug. 13: Butkus Award

Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes college football’s most prestigious awards and its 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients dating back to 1935. For more information about the NCFAA and its award programs, visit the or follow on X at @NCFAA.